Tuesday, January 29, 2013

2013 Caldecott Medal

The American Library Association has awarded the 2013 Caldecott Medal to This Is Not My Hat creator, Jon Klassen.  As you are probably wondering, the Caldecott Medal is given annually by the ALSC (a divsion of the ALA) to the "to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children."  In short, this means that the ALSC has decided This Is Not My Hat contains fantastic images that really match up well with the story that they are depicting! 

The ALSC also designated 5 other titles as "honor books."  This means that they were not quite as impressive as This Is Not My Hat, but were still really well done.  If you want to check out these titles, just follow the links to our catologue...

Creepy Carrots!, illustrated by Peter Brown and written by Aaron Reynolds
Extra Yarn, illustrated by Jon Klassen and written byMac Barnett
Green, illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger
One Cool Friend, illustrated by David Small and written by Toni Buzzeo
Sleep Like a Tiger, illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski and written by Mary Logue

Remember that while it is fun to check out award winning books, it is also important to decide whether or not you agree with their designation.  Sometimes we disagree with books being celebrated.  Sometimes we have read books that we feel are overlooked.  Feel free to let us know if there is a great book that you think should win an award!